Tiger Leaping Gorge

The scenic canyon on the Jinsha River rests between 5596m Jade Dragon Snow Mountain and 5396m Haba Snow Mountain in Yunnan, China.

DSC_0469 From internet, Tiger Leaping Gorge is the deepest and narrowest gorge in the world. I can’t say anything about this information because it’s the unique gorge I’ve visited. However this is the most marvelous and adventurous trek that I’ve ever experienced.

DSC_0413 The trekking trail [high path] runs on high elevation [around 2700m] on one side of the gorge passing through many breathtaking views:

Terraced farmlands: DSC_0428 Steep mountain cliff: DSC_0611 Shady forest: DSC_0537It was raining in the first day of our trek. The rain became heavy sometimes. So the trail became very dangerous, strenuous, and slippery. Especially in the last switchbacks, we had to use ‘4 arms’ to pass that part. DSC_0462   The trail narrows down to a width of 20cm in some parts… DSC_0578 … and looking down is a great rush… DSC_0475

Stayed one 1 night in the Half Way hostel which has run by a Naxi family. The owner was very friendly, good English-speaking. Although the bathrooms and toilets were quite smelly, I wouldn’t complain anything to this hostel. After an exhausted day, we had a steaming hot meal, thick and warm blankets, especially a stunning view from the hostel’s terrace. I was feeling good.

DSC_0655

Uphill on the first day, and downhill on the second day. It was sunny on the second day, everything looked perfectly.

DSC_0665

The trail on the second day was easier to hike than the first day. However, we had some difficult moments when crossing a waterfall on the 20cm narrow slippery trail.

DSC_0681After beating that part, the longer road we trekked, the less spectacular view we saw. Anyway, it’s still great.

DSC_0614

DSC_0775

I had the craziest moment on the way that was I stood on the jutted-rock top, only deep canyon around me.

DSC_0759

My teammates screamed like crazy when I crept to there. I was kidding that it would have been easy to find me if I had fallen down due to my colorful outfit :)). It was not my intention though. I still feel creepy whenever thinking of that moment.

The trekking is easy to be done without a guide. Just follow the yellow and blue arrow crossing the road.

Leave a Reply

